Happy Father’s Day

This is the day we set aside to honor the Fathers in our lives. In a Godly world, we would honor the people in our lives who love us and care for us on a daily basis and I believe this is what God calls us to do.  But, as it would be, today is that one day a year that we make a special effort to bless fathers. [I recommend that you read the origin of Father’s Day at this website: http://www.ideafinder.com/guest/calendar/fathersday.htm

You may remember some of this from last year. I saw no reason to rewrite what remains true in my heart.

To ‘Daddy,’ my uncle Robert Gray West, who allowed me to stay in his home after my birth mother died and my Grandmother decided that she would raise me. Daddy allowed his home to be an open door for Mama and me as we moved in and out from the time as far back as I can remember to when we moved to Richmond before my 8th grade year.

Uncle Sandy

To Daddy-Uncle Sandy, the hero of my young life. In my eyes he was bigger than the stars and could do no wrong. He is still my hero because he stayed! My brothers, Danny, Sam & Christopher, grew up with Dad in the home because he stayed when so many others walked away from their responsibilities! He modeled a life of service to the kingdom!

DSC02105To Dad Cox, my father of nearly 29 years. Dad is a model example of a Father who prays daily for his children. Every father would do good to emulate him. Dad has the gift of encouragement and uses it without reservation! When I was ordained, Dad Cox made his way across the country even though he had been ill. He had prayed so long for my ministry that he was determined not to let this moment pass without his presence. I was humbled by his sacrifice. That’s what a Father does. I have been so blessed by Dad and I can never express my gratefulness! Thanks, Dad.

sibs

To my brothers Danny, Sam, Deione, Derrick, Phillip, and Walter, Jr., brothers who love their children and are not afraid to show it. These are Godly men who understand that loving their families start with loving God. Things have not been easy for all of them and some have struggled more than others. Yet they continue to stay the course, to seek the best for their families. Their children will know what a Godly man looks like! Thank you for staying! Thank you for seeking God as you raise your children.

IMG_2704

and of course,

To Gerald, my husband of nearly 29 years. I have a storehouse of memories of him with our children, pouring into them: reading with them, bathing them, taking them to the park, wresting on the living room floor, tossing them high in the air and catching them with a flourish, correcting them when they fell and skinned their knees while doing something goofy (Mom did the kissing). I see him kneeling beside our daughter’s bed, praying, while she lay in pain waiting for our grandson to be born. I see him standing in the driveway crying as we watched Jonathan drive the car to Hampton for the first time. I see him holding little hands as we walked down the street, holding Jamie steady while she learned to ride her bike, dressing as Santa and holding excited children on his lap. These and so many memories from the past 25+ years are treasured memories.

Even today, with adult children I see Gerald praying for them, worrying about them, and encouraging them to be all that God created them to be. Our children know what a real Dad looks like. They know what it means to have a full-time, Godly father.  Because of Gerald, our grandson will never have to wonder what it would be like to have a strong male figure in his life. He will always have, not just the memories, but the confidence that comes from the times he ‘helps’  Gerald do yard work or the times the two of them sit on the sofa doing ‘man’ stuff like watching sports and eating snacks.

You’re a prince of a Dad, Gerald and I will always wish I had had a Dad just like you!

Leave a Reply

