Pain- Another lesson

Hello,

I have had new reasons to thank God for his provision. On Tuesday afternoon I had foot surgery. Naturally, I was told not to eat after midnight the night before. Sam’s Club became a classroom in the suffering of others as I walked up and down aisles filled with people offering samples of delectable foods that I had to decline. It occurred to me that every day poor children go to school and are forced to smell food they cannot buy. Not being able to eat was a matter of choice for me – a choice that millions of Americans do not have every day. Lesson number one! The surgery went just fine but since I’ve always been pretty healthy I underestimated just what kind of recovery I would need for the surgery. In my mind I would have surgery on Tuesday afternoon and by Friday morning I’d be feeling as right as rain. I would be working in my office and taking care of all of the things I needed to attend to. I didn’t count on the foot continuing to be swollen or running a fever. Even though I am in pain and not feeling a 100% I still can reasonably expect to fully heal. Riding through our home in a wheelchair is an inconvenience. The crutches are not likely to be a permanent part of my attire.  Lesson two. Every day I see people for whom the wheel chair is a permanent part of their lives. Their pain is not fleeting. The frustration of not being able to do things on your own is part of their daily routine. I need to be careful about how I frame my own experience in light of the suffering in this world. One of my colleagues, Sister Alice Ann, gave me sage advice a couple weeks ago when I was belly aching to her about the additional surgery the doctor wanted me to have. She reminded me that I could offer my suffering to God, that my temporary suffering could draw my attention to others for whom suffering is on-going.

So, in the midst of this healing (for which having surgery, buying over-priced medicines etc is in itself a major privilege) I thank God for helping me to see beyond my own immediate needs and cares. God is awesome.

4 Responses

  1. My momma always said….”There but for the grace of God go I”.

  2. My momma used to say…’There but for the grace of God go I’……How true.

  3. it’s all about perspective, isn’t it? Our pains/challenges always seem like the most difficult- until God reminds us that there are folk who would be overjoyed to have our challenges!

  4. VERY humbling post especially in light of my week…. daily there was a hurdle yet my most challenging day would be someone else ideal situation

Leave a Reply

