Thank you

I had the most phenomenal weekend. On Friday night I was honored to perform the marriage ceremony for a young woman who once was my student and who lived with us her senior year at UD. Our Betsey married a wonderful man and a terrific 10 year old son! We had a great ceremony that created, not just a marriage, but a family! God is so awesome. On Saturday morning many former Ebony Heritage Singers returned to sing under my direction again. The beautiful voices! The wonderful people. Saturday evening my family hosted a birthday bash and 150 (if not more) people filled our home to help us celebrate. Jonathan wrote a beautiful song which he performed and Jamie created a great slide show of photos. I was surrounded by people who love me. Yesterday, we performed a spectacular concert for people who have been so supportive of my work and the Ebony Heritage Singers. We sang many of my favorite EHS songs from over the past 15 years and it was beautiful. Family and former students came from all over the place.  As I ended the night writing in my prayer/gratitude journal, I asked God to remind me of this weekend the next time I have a pity party and especially the next time the enemy tries to convince me that I don’t matter!  Satan is a liar! Thank you to everyone who helped me celebrate in ways great and small.  I am blessed beyond measure!

To get a copy of the concert recording, contact Soundwaves at Mail@soundwaves.org.  Tell them University of Dayton Ebony Heritage Singers Concert, April 6, 2008. They will bill you!

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations! How blessed you are!

  2. The weekend was phenomenal. Look at all the outpouring of affection for you. All of the people stopping to wish you well…Coming from near and far just to holla at you. Love isn’t love until you give it away. Looks like you’ve been spreading a lot of love. From the wedding (which I missed) to the rehearsal to the party to the concert…I was happy to be a part of a weekend of historic proportion. Twelve family members and four generations participating and witnessing the reunion concert and sixteen family members at your party! You are blessed and loved. I look forward to the next 50 years.

Leave a Reply

