A Dad

I wrote this poem last year for my husband of nearly 30 years, Gerald A. Cox, Jr. I repost it to honor him and all of the wonderful Dads in my life (a truncated list):  Danny McNeal, Sam McNeal, Sandy McNeal, Walter Brinkley, Deione Cox, Derrick Cox, Derrick Cox, Jr., Dameon Broadus, Phillip Cox, Keith Mary, Keith Bullock, Kevin McNeil, Flint Fowler, Keith Cosby, Tom Howell, Kevin Jenkins, David Abney, Daryl Ward, & Walter Green. I love you guys!!

 

A Dad

Donna Cox for her husband of nearly 30  years

Being a father is a relatively easy task

All it takes is the passing of appropriate body fluids at the opportune time

Being a father doesn’t necessarily mean responsibility

Nor does it automatically bestow certain privileges

But being a Dad – ah, that’s an entirely different matter

Being a Dad isn’t easy

It requires everything a man has to give – and then some

A Dad sacrifices personal desires and plans so he can be available to his child

A Dad wipes runny noses, dirty behinds, and dries salty tears

A Dad plays silly games and sings goofy songs

And makes up outlandish stories – for the price of a smile

A Dad will dress in a boa and frilly hat for a tea party with his girl

A Dad will shoot bad guys, scale mountains and leap tall buildings with his boy

A Dad will take three hours doing a one-hour job so his child can ‘help’

A Dad will kneel by his child’s bed and pray while she sleeps

or gives birth to her own child

A Dad will slip $20 into his adult son’s hand before he heads out the door

A Dad doesn’t have to give birth to a child to love him or her

So his grandson can put big shoes on small feet and call him ‘Dad’

A niece can sidle up to her uncle and, in her heart, call him ‘Dad’

A Dad seeks intimate relationships with his children

He knows he can’t expect them to give what he isn’t willing to provide

So he shares his mistakes and struggles in the hope his child will share hers

A Dad can be a father with ease

BUT a father has a long road to walk before he can be a dad.

Happy Father’s Day to a Real Dad!

3 Responses

  1. On this Father’s Day I would like to give a shout out to my family. I thank God for the privilege of being the father of two awesome children, Jonathan and Jamie; for being the grandfather of a precious grandbaby, Hezekiah; and for being the husband of a …spectacular woman, Donna. With each passing year I gain more appreciation for the favor of God in blessing me with the tremendous family He has given me. Donna, Jonathan, Jamie and Hezekiah, I am proud to be the patriarch of our clan. I love you more than I can say. I have not been a perfect man, and I have made my share of mistakes, but I have no regrets about what I have given of my life to you. If I could do it all again, I would, and I would try to do it better. I pray that I have given something of myself to you that you will remember with fondness after I am gone. Also, I pray that we will have many more memorable moments. My life is richer – this Father’s Day and every day – because of you. Allow me to mention my own father, Gerald Sr., a man I have loved and admired my entire life. He has been my hero for as long as I can remember. Nearly every good thing I learned about being a man I learned from my father. I love you, Dad, and I pray I have brought some joy into your life.

  2. Thank you, Sweetie, for posting this again this year. I am blessed by your words and your life. It is an honor to be your husband for nearly thirty years…more than half my life. I love you.

  3. The poem is still a Blessing this year also Donna I am added my husband
    Willie to ypur list because I watch how he takes care of all the women in his
    family he is a God sent man to me this year will me twenty years of marriage
    for us and I thank the Lord for him thank you again for this blessed word

    Delores Searcy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 400 other followers

